Twists and Turns

life_twists_turns_box

 

The journey that we all are on at times takes many twists and turns. The course we are traveling is very seldom a simple straight line from point A to point B. There are detours on the road that mess with our plans and our time frames. Those decisions we make in life may cause us to either stay on or cause us to veer off the path. Sometimes when you do go off the path, it might not be what you had planned or was not part of your game plan. But who knows, it might just be exactly what you needed to actually put you back a place that you can get back in the game.

So whether we are talking about your life, marriage, or career stay wake and keep your focus on the road ahead.

Many years ago, I was driving to Kansas City with my family. At that time we had a new Jeep Grand Cherokee and we had been driving for about five hours. My family were all sleeping and dad was at the wheel. Yes, I was a little tired, but you know how that is you are on a journey to a distinction so you push through. You suck on ice, chew bubble gum, and open the window to get a little air blowing through the car. Well, that is what I did.

After we had passed through Des Moines I was doing well, but it was about an hour south of Des Moines I got tired. So tired that I was starting to nod off a little. So more bubble gum and ice to chew on and window up and down to get that breeze. But all the sudden on one of those times I nodded off, I opened my eyes and had no idea where I was at or what I was doing. Now the Jeep has down in the ditch with the cruise control on at 70 mph when I was jolted to realize my situation. Now all I could think about of was getting the vehicle out of the ditch (lucky that I did, because there was a culvert we would have hit). So still in a daze, but I did not hit the break. I just tried to get out of the ditch.

 Have you ever been trying to get out a ditch?
Now everyone is awake as the car comes up out of the ditch. When I hit the pavement I had to do something, so in my daze I hit the break and the car spun around a couple of times (without flipping over) and after a few seconds (which seemed like an eternity) the car came to rest in the middle of 35W in Southern Iowa. I was shaking. Everyone in the car was shaken, but glad to be alive.

So what did we do? Well, after pulling over and getting my bearings again. I got back into the drivers seat and we just proceeded on the journey. That incident that we experienced could have been very devastating to me and my family, but the only thing we could do was to get back on the road. But when we did, no one went back to sleep. We all stayed awake keeping our eyes on the road toward Kansas City.

There are times when you have to wake up and react to the circumstances that we are in. Just get our bearings again and get back on the road. There too are times, when we just need to relax because there is nothing you can do about the detour on the road you took. Yes, it might take a few minutes longer to get to our destination. But what I have learned in life is, if stay on the course we will get there. In both causes we just need to keep going.

So again if in your life, career, marriage, or any other part of your journey, you are going to have those twists and turns on the road. There maybe some times when you will encounter detours from what your plan is. The line between point A and point B just might not be straight, but my friends, if you will stay on the road you will get to your destination.

 What do you do when the twists and turns come to your life?
Leave a Reply

