Overcoming Against All Odds and even the USGA Officials

th (2)
Dustin Johnson overcomes another potential ruling by the PGA officials and goes on to win the 116th US Open at Oakmont Country Club.
But it wasn’t without a little drama.

All week the three putts on the 72nd hole of the 115th US Open at Chambers Bay was the topic of conversation. Whether it was in a press conference at Oakmont, Golf channel shows, or anywhere there was talk about collapse in sports or Dustin Johnson and his chances to win this championship on Father’s Day.

You see it wasn’t just the missed but last year, it was also the 2010 PGA Championship when he was about to go into a playoff, but on the 18th hole his tee shot was way to the right and landed on some sand. When he assessed the situation in his mind it was just a waste bunker and so when he hit his shot to the green he grounded his club. Meaning before he hit the ball he touched the sand behind the ball, and because all the sand had been declared blunders and you could not ground your club, he was assessed a 1 stroke penalty which eliminated him from what he thought was a playoff.

Now on Sunday deemed a on the fifth green, before he was going to stroke his ball to the hole, Dustin Johnson took a couple of practice strokes by his ball. At that point he called in a PGA official he deemed his ball had moved. Which under the old rules of golf would be a penalty. Once the play has ground his club, when it is the wind or gravity the player would be assessed a penalty stroke. But with the rule change, now the players has to do something to cause the ball to move. All Dustin did was take a couple of practice strokes and the ball moved.

The USGA’s senior director of the rules of golf Jeff, Hall said, “After he put his club down, within a second the ball moved.” He went on to say, “You have to weigh all the evidence.” Hall felt, “more likely then not” that Johnson had cause the ball to move. But when he had called over the official on the 5th hole, the ruling was that Johnson has not caused the ball to move.

He played 6 more holes, but on the 12th hole was officially told by the USGA that his score was possibly on less than the scoreboard was showing. But they would not know until he was in the scoring tent and they together had a chance to review the video.

Wow! Another blow to Dustin Johnson in trying to win his first major championship!

So from that point all Johnson did was bomb massive drives straight down the middle of fairways. Then put a stamp on his victory with a birdie on the challenging 72nd hole of the 116th US Open. It was a putt to seal the deal and win his first major championship, but it won’t be the last for this long bombing athletic man.

Talk about overcoming difficulties, pressures, and a feeling of anxiety that could have him to collapse under the circumstances that were totally out of his control. The only thing this 33 years old man could do was turn up his game on the last five holes and win this championship and not worry about the ruling of the USGA in the scoring tent.

You see this man, everyone questioning if he could ever win at this level and then the again the USGA up in the air ruling, he answered all the questions and overcame all odds. Now Dustin Johnson has put all the talkers behind and proven he is an overcomer and stood proud holding the 116th US Open trophy.

What difficulties have you had to overcome in life to get where you want to go?

Advertisements